h1

It’s a nice day for a….red carpet appearance?

October 22, 2009

Last week, Nicola Roberts wore this to the highlight of any serious British fashionista’s calander..The Pride of Britain Awards.

nicola wedding

As I’m sure you’re aware, that is a Vivienne Westwood wedding dress worn by Carrie in the SATC film (*shudders at the rememberance of that piece of cinematic excrescence*).  Now the first thing that comes to my mind is that it is a truly dedicated fashionista (see how I use that instead of ‘fame whore’?  That’s because I like Nicola and I’m not Perez Hilton) who decides to wear such an obviously headline grabbing outfit, at an awards ceremony that’s supposed to be about the “inspriation stuff” done by “ordinary people”.

But the second thing is of course:  is this going to become a trend?  Are we going to start seeing more wedding dresses on the red carpet?  I’ve been wracking my brains trying to remember who it was, but I’m sure there was a picture of another celebrity recently wearing another wedding dress like it was any old gown.  The best I can come up with is this:

emmy-rossum-american-ballet-theatre-2009-fall-gala-4

…worn by Emmy Rossum (I know, who?) at a recent event, which people seem to be accusing of being a wedding dress, but I think it has to be certifiably wedding-intended in order for this game to work.

I suppose it makes sense – if you’re going to spend thousands of pounds on a designer gown, it might as well be a wedding dress.  And given that the ‘white wedding’ has become a pretty meaningless tradition, why not wear these beautiful garments devoid of their symbolic baggage?  Is it in fact a feminist statement?

I think I’m taking it a bit far so I’m going to end on an even more confusing note by posting this image of Dita Von Teese in a Christian Lacroix wedding dress in a shoot for Harper’s Bazaar Russia.

dita wedding

Try wearing THAT to an afterparty at Mahiki.

Leave a Reply

